Saturday, August 13, 2011

Are the Boston Red Sox casting themselves as the Oakland Raiders of Baseball?

I am fairly nauseated by the phony machismo displayed by the Red Sox organization and fans (clapping during game1)over the last few days. Is it just me or is sh*t talking and showboating at an all time high? The fact that the Sox fans can overlook the fact that Manny Ramirez, Curt Schilling, Josh Beckett, and Jon Papelbon are such horrible people in their hunger for a world championship has brought into question my appreciation for the game itself. They are a group of seasoned veterans that are beating up on a group of 20 year olds, and doing it with the least grace and respect of any championship team in world series history. It is like watching a snuff film. It is a sad commentary on our society when a team chooses to win in this way. You may hate the Yankees for winning all those years, but the amount of fist pumps and pitcher yells and the like was at a minimum. Joe Torre instilled a sense of respect for the game. You just didn't behave like that.

No comments:

Post a Comment